OCT13 17:25PM

I was a pretty bad car accident yesterday… Sandwiched between two cars. I can’t seem to get the images out of my head just yet, too soon I suppose. But I just wanted to make sure I documented this incident/ordeal/trauma whatever you want to call it because I’ll want to remember when it happened months/years from now. It was such a scary moment, on my way home after a great afternoon with a girlfriend shopping. Green light ahead, a build up of cars ahead in my lane, I’m stepping on my brake so my car comes to a stop and the next thing I know, all I hear is a big BANG. Not being able to register what JUST happened, until I see the vehicle in front of me and the one behind.

Horrible Realization: I was just in an accident.

My heart is racing, I feel disoriented, I’m trying to stay calm, turn my engine off, park my car, and the driver of the vehicle behind me comes to check on me and he’s an elderly man holding onto his heart like he’s either in shock or in pain. But his face had the look of remorse and relief that I was alive, staring back at him, screaming “are you okay, sir.” The passenger in front got out of his car and was walking to the back to check out his bumper, which was now detached and on the road. I reach for my phone, call my parents and it’s a horrible moment having to keep my composure and tell my mother that I just got rear ended, but I’m not hurt, I’m okay and the tears just run down my face – unstoppable. Next call is to 911 and it’s the first time I’ve probably ever reported an incident through the emergency line. My parents arrive on the scene and my mom’s frantic, we hug, we’re crying and she’s so thankful that I’m not injured; so am I. The paramedics and police cars arrive and the rest feels like the longest night I’ve ever had….

Realizations from this traumatic event:

  1. You never know what tomorrow can and will bring. Live everyday to your fullest.
  2. Be grateful for all the important things every day: good health and family and friends that love/care for you
  3. Drive safe. DO IT. MEAN IT – when you say it to someone.

I am so thankful to be alive. thank you thank you thank you for watching over me.
My mind has drifted here and there to “what if” and there is a whole host of scenarios of bad/horrible things that could have happened to me… Now the next step is to put this behind me and move on (also need to say good-bye to my car, just like that…) That so far has been harder than I imagined. Physio will help with my sores/pains, but that slight feeling of anxiety when I’m in the car now in traffic will hopefully go away with time.

OCT13 17:25PM

One thought on “OCT13 17:25PM

  1. ✿ haine says:

    Diana, omg! I can’t believe I didn’t read this sooner. That is something I can’t imagine going through, but I’m just so so glad you are okay. That must have been so scary. It’s a wonderful thing, that even though we’re grown up now, we still have our parents supporting us right when we need it the most.

Leave a Reply

